Tags

,

Good Lord.

With all due humility, I have a pretty impressive martial arts lineage.  Among other things, in Japan I trained under both Grandmasters Fusei Kise of the Kenshin Kan of Shorin-ryu Karatedo and Kobudo, and Shimabukuro Eizo of the Shobayashi school of Shorin-ryu Karatejutsu and kobujutsu.  In the U.S., I trained in Hwarang Do under the late Franklin Fowlkes, who later founded the Five Elements Martial Arts System–Grandmaster Fowlkes being not only an ex-Army Ranger, but also a student of Michael Echanis, who is a legend in Special Operations community.  He is also the basis for the book “The Men Who Stared at Goats” (No, I have not read the book nor seen the movie.  I find it very likely that they would make me very, very angry.)  In every case, I quickly became one of the top students at every school I trained in.

That being said, my military and law enforcement careers have made it very difficult during my adult life to continue any sort of serious martial arts training.  I am just getting serious about it now, and at the age of 43, here is what constitutes serious: Yesterday, I attended what was essentially a children’s Taekwondo class.

Today, I am wearing Ben-Gay.  *sigh*  My body remembers everything it is supposed to do; but over the last two decades my balance, flexibility, and anaerobic conditioning have dropped to nil.  I suppose it will be interesting to see how much can be regained during the latter half of my life.